Day zero: Getting the room ready

We’re officially back to work on Friday with all day meetings and kids start Monday. Here’s day zero of my 7th grade math class.

It has taken me longer this year to get my classroom ready because I switched rooms along with grade levels and team configurations.

Here are a few pictures of my classroom.

Note the purple and yellow "wiggle" seat cushions by the window. To the left (out of view) is an exercise bike and a podium for kids who need more movement.

Note the purple and yellow “wiggle” seat cushions by the window. To the left (out of view) is an exercise bike and a podium. This is all for kids who need more movement.

The big, blue, empty bulletin board is reserved for student work. (I actually ran out of ideas but don't tell anyone.)

The big, blue, empty bulletin board is reserved for student work. (I actually ran out of ideas but don’t tell anyone.)

If you are wondering what why I have comic book and Super Mario characters suspended from the ceiling, I use them for groupings.

This is my go to poster.

This is my go-to poster.

I’m about 90% done. The only thing left is to finish two small bulletin boards.  When I take in the view I realize there’s not an original idea in my room. The door was stolen from Rachel. I added historians and literary critics because I’ll teach a section of each this year.

Highway robbery

Highway robbery when Rachel wasn’t looking.

The math practice posters are from Sarah.

A five finger discount and I got 8 of 'em from Sarah!

A five finger discount and I got 8 of ’em from Sarah!

The modes of representation are from a colleague. She doesn’t get a hyperlink.

Tapped into the shared folder for this one.

Tapped into the shared folder for this one.

I could go on.

4 thoughts on “Day zero: Getting the room ready

  1. Almost everything I do comes from someone else’s idea. I have decided I’m much better at adapting something created elsewhere for my own use than coming up with original stuff. I’m just not quite that creative. I am, however, superb at modifying for my own use. i think we’re all in this thing together, so we might as well help each other out any way we can. Hope you have a great year!

Leave a comment